Alive

October 14, 2012 § Leave a comment

Today, I am thankful.

I am thankful for praise music, and my ability to belt it out in the car in imperfect pitch. I am thankful for yards full of yellow, orange, and burnt red leaves, and the people who are gracious enough to leave them un-raked so I can stare at them. I am thankful for morning coffee, with lots of half-and-half. I am thankful for husbands who are so willing to help their extended families, even when it isn’t the most fun way to spend a Sunday afternoon. I am thankful for moms who take their kids out for tacos on Saturday nights. I am thankful for a job that allows me to spend my weekends with family and friends. I am thankful for cinnamon, because it is such a delightful spice. 

Image

 

I was listening to a song by Jason Gray, that talks about how good it is to be alive, how good it is to live like there isn’t a tomorrow. It was such a worshipful, celebration of life kind of song, and it was my devotion this morning. Even though it was a brief four minutes, it’s so powerful to have a reminder of how precious each day is.

Sunday mornings are not a favorite of mine. It always seems like a let down, since work is looming on Monday and there are so many little things to work on. But it’s nice to know we have a God who will gently remind us to slow down and appreciate. To be thankful for each moment, even if it is a furniture moving day and dreary and windy and rainy. 

 

It’s good to be alive. 

 

Image

 

It’s good to be alive.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Alive at inthefullnessofjoy.

meta

