Moving

January 9, 2012 § Leave a comment

So I moved back to school yesterday.

Very bittersweet. I love seeing all my friends, but I was surprised at how homesick I was. It didn’t help that written comprehensives were looming in the near future. I had a hard time sleeping, which made me very anxious. But more on that another time. The bright spot: My test is over! And in two weeks, I’ll know the results.

Food. Oh food. All I want to do after taking my test is go out and pig out. But alas, that’s not happening. Which makes me sad, but also makes me realize: I reward myself with food. It’s  cheap and temporarily fulfilling. I look forward to good food, and I enjoy good food. And this is not necessarily a bad thing, but the key is Moderation. I think drastically changing my diet has made me realize I lack the moderation needed. It has also forced me to look for other areas of reward. Painting my toenails, watching an episode of HIMYM, or going to the mall have all been areas I’ve enjoyed the past 9 days, but without the added snacking. And that feels pretty darn good.

I’ve been out to eat almost every day since beginning this diet, just because of a lot of family and friend celebrations occurring. Panera, Ruby Tuesdays, and BD’s Mongolian Barbecue were all good experiences. Olive garden was a bit tricky, but I worked it out with the Red Sauce and Mushroom Ravioli. Is the Ravioli made with egg? I don’t’ think so, but I did not get a definite internet search about it, so it’s possible. But hey, at least I tried. I’ve found less enjoyment in the food, however I have realized I’ve found more enjoyment in the company. Not to get all philosophical, but isn’t that what it’s about? 

My menu options are drastically reduced, but I have yet to find a restaurant that isn’t accommodating to my dietary preferences. I am also full at the end of the meal, and mostly satisfied. (Exception: eating the vegetable side platter at Ruby Tuesdays. Not that it wasn’t delicious, but girlfriend needs more protein…) And instead of stuffing my face, I feel good at the end of the meal, not overfull. And I still get to see the people that I love, and interact with them in a meaningful way.

My snacking varies day to day, but I will say that it has been happily reduced overall. I don’t reach for pizza rolls or cereal at 10pm at night. At the worst, I did have a chips and salsa binge. But overall, this area is so much better that this diet is already worth it to me. I will, ahem, delicately state that my digestive system needed some time to get use to my new, healthier, eating style, but I am basically acclimated at this point. Tip: Avoid over-fibering your diet right away. Ease in slowly.

FYI: I’ve decided to stop blogging what I eat here, because truthfully, it’s pretty darn boring. I’ll keep you updated if I try something absolutely awesome, but otherwise just assume I’m eating tons of veggies, lots of soy, and some occasional dark chocolate. 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Moving at inthefullnessofjoy.

meta

