Resolve

December 27, 2011 § Leave a comment

This year, with a little effort and elbow grease I will:

1. Take written comprehensives

2. Complete 2 clinical internships

3. Graduate

4. Take boards

5. Find a job

I am appropriately freaked out about this. 2012 is BIG. And it’s coming whether I am ready or not. So I am resolving to be ready. Obviously, by preparing for my tests and internships in any way I can. But mostly, mentally.

Change is hard. I don’t like change, as a given rule. And yet, it sneaks up on you anyway. And, if the past is any indicator, I don’t handle change very well. With change comes worry, and with worry comes freaking out and with freaking out comes a loss of joy.

I’m tired of losing my joy.

I think as Christians, we are called to live in the fullness of joy. I don’t mean that every moment of our lives will be filled with rainbows. But I do mean that there should be less freaking out and more giving thanks. More moments of peace and less turbulence. And I AM NOT a philosopher, a bible student, or a pastor. But I feel called to make a change. I am not living in the fullness of God’s joy, I am not living a life full of the joy of the Lord.

So I welcome 2012 as a time of personal growth. Less worry, more faith. More time with Christ, and less with burdens. More self-discovery of what it really means to be a follower of Jesus. And the rest will fall into place. Maybe not where I would have put it, but it will be there.

“Do not grieve, for the joy of the LORD is your strength.” Nehemiah 8:10.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Resolve at inthefullnessofjoy.

meta

